Home > Articles > Information Technology

The IT Dimension: Capturing the Six Key IT Areas You Must Manage

  • Print
  • + Share This
With a clear understanding of the business and its environment, customers, and services, you must optimize the business' ability to use information to create business value. To be an effective IT organization, you need a comprehensive way to architect, implement, and manage IT architectures, processes, and organization. Learn the six key IT areas that need your attention.
Like this article? We recommend


To optimize the use of information, you must manage a wide range of elements to ensure that all aspects of your IT organization and infrastructure are assessed, built, and managed in a comprehensive and logical manner. The Information Technology Dimension of the Mozart Unification Framework‰ provides a way to organize and structure your IT organization. It's one of three dimensions that link business, services, and information technology to achieve desired business outcomes. (For a description of the Mozart Unification Framework, see the previous article in this series, "Crossing the Chasm: A Framework to Connect IT to Desired Business Outcomes.")

With this view, the Information Technology Dimension comprises six domains that capture the key elements of IT services, policies, technologies, facilities, processes, and organization to ensure they're well planned, well deployed, integrated, and systematically evaluated for improvement. Knowledge of the Information Technology Dimension will help you understand key areas that must be managed in an effective IT organization—one that contributes to desired business outcomes.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account