Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend

Like this article? We recommend

Performing a Privacy Checkup

Performing a Privacy Checkup

The easiest way to determine who can see what on Facebook is to perform what Facebook calls a privacy checkup. This wizard-like process walks you step-by-step through Facebook's most important privacy settings. (You can still configure all these settings—and more—individually, as you'll see shortly.)

To perform a privacy checkup, start by clicking the Privacy Shortcuts button on the Facebook toolbar and then click Privacy Checkup. The Privacy Checkup panel displays, as shown in Figure 1. You want to walk through this checkup process step-by-step.

Figure 1 Conducting a Facebook privacy checkup

First, go to the Your Posts section, and click the button notated as Who Would You Like To See Your Next Post? You now have the options discussed earlier—Public, Friends, and (under More Options) Only Me, Custom, and the like.

If you click Custom, you see the Custom Privacy panel, shown in Figure 2. Here you can opt to share or not share with specific groups of users. To share with specific people, enter those names into the Share This With box. To not share with specific people, enter those names into the Don't Share This With box. Click Save Changes when done.

Figure 2 Configuring custom privacy options

Back in the Privacy Checkup panel, click Next Step. You now see a list of mobile apps you've logged in to with your Facebook ID, as shown in Figure 3.

Facebook lets other users see which apps you're using, which you may not want them to see. To change who can see which app, click the down arrow and select from the typical options. If there are apps you're no longer using, you can delete them by clicking the X next to the app name.

Figure 3 Determining who sees information about the apps you use

Click Next Step; you now see all the contact information you've provided to Facebook—phone numbers and email addresses and even your birthday. You probably don't want to share this information with anyone, so click the down arrow next to each piece of data and then select Only Me. Click Finish Up when done; then click Close to wrap it up.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account