Deleting an App
If you tire of an app you can remove it from your iPad temporarily or forever. When you purchase an app, it is always available for download again, so there’s no need to worry about accidentally deleting an app and having to purchase it again. The only apps you cannot delete are the 20 pre-installed apps that come with your newly purchased iPad.
To delete an app, tap and hold your finger on any app until you see the app icons with circled x’s in the upper-left corners. The icons should be wiggling (see Figure 7.14).
Figure 7.14. Preparing to delete an app.
Tap the X on the app (or apps) you want to remove and then tap the Delete button in the confirmation window (see Figure 7.15).
Figure 7.15. Confirm that you want to delete an app.
If you read the confirmation window carefully, you see the downside to deleting an app. When you remove an app, all data associated with that app is deleted as well.
Deleting all the data might not be a big deal to you, but then again, if you’ve been playing a game with 30 levels and you’ve only made your way up to Level 10, you lose your progress and have to start over if you ever choose to install that game app again. The same goes for other apps. The to-do list app, when deleted, also takes with it any reminders you have stored.
One exception that I can think of are the eBook readers such as the Kindle or Nook apps. Deleting them doesn’t delete the digital books you’ve purchased through their services. If you delete and then reinstall the Kindle app, for example, you have access to download all your purchased eBooks again. There are likely other exceptions to other types of apps, but as a rule, be very careful when deleting apps and understand the risks of data loss.