Home > Articles > Home & Office Computing > The Web/Virtual Worlds/Social Networking

  • Print
  • + Share This
From the author of How to Keep from Being Tagged in a Friend's Photo

How to Keep from Being Tagged in a Friend's Photo

Fortunately, Facebook lets you opt out of being tagged in friends' photos—including those pictures where your face is automatically recognized.

Let's start by telling Facebook not to suggest photos of you to others. Here's how to do it:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account and click the Account menu at the top of any Facebook page; then select Privacy Settings.
  2. When the Privacy Settings page appears, click the Customize Settings list beneath the table of settings.
  3. When the Customize Settings page appears, scroll down to the Things Others Share section and click the Edit Settings button next to the Suggest Photos of Me to Friends item.
  4. Figure 3 Configuring Facebook sharing settings

  5. When the Photos: Suggest Tags dialog box appears, click the Enabled button; then select Disabled.
  6. Click the Okay button.
  7. Figure 4 Disabling photo suggestion

You can also minimize your photographed exposure by limiting who can see those photos in which you're tagged. Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account and click the Account menu at the top of any Facebook page; then select Privacy Settings.
  2. When the Privacy Settings page appears, click the Customize Settings list beneath the table of settings.
  3. When the Customize Settings page appears, scroll down to the Things Others Share section and click the Edit Settings button next to the Photos and Videos You're Tagged In item.
  4. When the Photos and Videos You're Tagged In dialog box appears, click the Who Can See Photos and Videos I'm Tagged In button and select from the following:
    • Everyone (pictures are visible to all Facebook users)
    • Friends of Friends (only your friends and their friends can see the pictures)
    • Friends Only (only your Facebook friends can see them)
    • Customize (select this option; then when the Custom Privacy dialog box appears, pull down the These People list and select Only Me to hide these pictures from everyone on Facebook)
  5. Click the Okay button when done.
  6. Figure 5 Limiting who can see your photo tags

If you want to maximize your privacy—and minimize your photographic exposure on the Facebook site—turn off the suggest photos feature and limit viewing of photo tags to only friends or, perhaps, only yourself. Depending on what kinds of photos of you that may be floating around out there, this sort of configuration may be prudent.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account