When working with records, it is possible that you need to merge two records into one record. This might be because a customer consolidated or shut down offices or locations, or because you found a duplicate record in the system.
This functionality is included in the toolbar by selecting the Merge icon, as shown in the Web client in Figure 7.42.
Figure 7.42 Merge icon.
When you select to merge two records, the records are displayed on the Merge Records interface allowing you to select which one has the master data (see Figure 7.43). By selecting the fields you want to keep from each section, you tell the system which record it should have after the merge. The other data in the field is discarded.
Figure 7.43 Merge Records dialog box.
When the merge is complete, the selected records are kept, and the subordinate record is deactivated. If the subordinate record had associations to Contacts (in the case of Accounts), the new Master record now has the Contacts.
Fields that aren't listed in Figure 7.43, such as Notes, are merged into one record.