Home > Articles > Home & Office Computing > Mac OS X

  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend

4: Disastrous Deleting

If you have a folder selected in Mail and you click the Trash icon, an alert asks whether you really want to move the folder to the Deleted Items folder. Click OK and you can always manually drag the folder back out before its contents are permanently destroyed, but you can’t use the standard Mac keyboard shortcut of Command-Z to undo this action. That’s especially odd because if you had selected an individual email message and pressed Command-Delete, the undo feature works as expected.

At least there are ways to recover email that you accidentally delete. That’s not the case with Address Book contacts. If you’re editing a contact and you click the Trash icon (an easy mistake to make when you really meant to click the Remove icon to delete a phone number, for example), kiss your contact goodbye. There’s absolutely no way to recover your deleted contact and its information. The lack of a functioning undo command for destructive actions is inexcusable, especially since it’s possible to turn off confirmation dialog boxes in Entourage’s preferences (see Figure 4).

Figure 4

Figure 4 Whatever else you do, don’t deselect the "Require confirmation when deleting" checkbox in the Notification pane of Entourage’s preferences.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account