Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend

Choosing a Testing Technique

Like many areas of computer science, accessibility testing relies on multiple standards. For example, if you work with the U.S. government, it's likely that you'll follow the Section 508 requirements. This law specifies how a computer system should react to user input and what features it requires. The features also include specific accessibility needs such as full support for a screen reader—special software that describes how the page appears, for someone who can't see it. This law not only affects web pages, it also affects desktop displays.

The most widely used standard is the W3C's Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). This standard supports three parts (levels). Because this is the most common standard, aDesigner uses the Part 1 (WCAG P1) check by default. Add the other two parts to obtain the best possible view of the accessibility of your system.

Select Tool, Checker Option in aDesigner to change the testing criteria. When the Checker Option Setting dialog box opens, select one or more of the testing criteria. You don't have to choose one standard over another—you can select them all if you want. However, when you select all of the criteria, the output can become confusing, and it might be hard to locate the information to fix the error. All of the accessibility standards provide guidelines that you can use to fix the problems you find.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account