Home > Articles > Networking > Wireless/High Speed/Optical

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Appendix 1B Summary of Important Standards Organizations

Figure 1B.1 provides an overview of the standardization process. The process starts in a group, for example, IEEE 802.11 or GSM, which implements the standard. The implemented standard is then moved for the approval of a regional organization such as the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) or the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The regional recommendation is finally submitted to world-level organizations, such as ITU or ISO/IEC, for final approval as an international standard. There are a number of standards organizations involved in wireless networking. Table 1B.1 provides a summary of the important standards playing major roles in shaping the wireless networking industry. This table helps the reader as a reference point while reading the text.

Figure 1b.1Figure 1B.1 Standard development process.

Table 1B.1 Summary of Important Standards

IEEE: Publishes 802 series standards for LANs and 802.11, 802.15, and 802.16 for wireless applications.

T1: Sponsored by Alliance for Telecommunications Information Solutions (ATIS) telecommunication standards body working on North American standards.

ATM (Asynchronous Transfer Mode) Forum: An industrial group working on a standard for ATM networks.

DSL (Digital Subscriber Loop) Forum: An industrial group working on xDSL services.

CableLab: Industrial alliance in America to certify DOCSIS compatible cable modems.

UNII (formerly SUPERNet): Industrial alliance for unlicensed bands for wireless LANs in 5.2 and  5.7 GHz.

IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force): Publishes Internet standards that include TCP/IP and SNMP.  It is not an accredited standards organization.

FCC (Federal Communication Commission): The frequency administration authority in the United States.

EIA/TIA (Electronic/Telecommunication Industry Association): U.S. national standard for North American wireless systems.

ANSI: Accepted 802 series and forwarded to ISO. Also published FDDI, HIPPI, SCSI, and Fiber Channel. Developed JTC models for wireless channels.

ETSI: Published GSM, HIPERLAN-1, and UMTS.

CEPT (Committee of the European Post and Telecommunication): Standardization body of the European Posts Telegraph and Telephone (PTT) ministries. Co-published GSM with ETSI.

TTC (Telecommunication Technology Committee): Japanese national standard organization that approved JTC.

IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission): Publishes jointly with ISO.

ISO (International Standards Organization): Ultimate international authority for approval of standards.

ITU (International Telecommunication Union; formerly CCITT): International advisory committee under United Nations. The Telecommunication Sector, ITU-T, published ISDN and wide area ATM standards. Also works on IMT-2000.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account