Home > Articles > Home & Office Computing > Entertainment/Gaming/Gadgets

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Deleting Your Photos

At times, you might decide to delete some of your photographs. This can be for several reasons. Perhaps the shot is blurry. Maybe the photo is similar to dozens of others you’ve taken of the same thing. Whatever your reason, you want to get rid of it.

Move Photos to the Trash

  1. Select the photo or photos you want to delete.
  2. Press the Delete key on your keyboard, or choose Photos, Move to Trash.

  3. Click Delete Photos in the confirmation box.
  4. At this point, you haven’t actually deleted your photos from iPhoto. You’ve just moved them to iPhoto’s trash can. iPhoto’s trash can icon is always in the source list. Hovering your mouse over the trash can icon displays a small window that shows you how many photos you have in the trash.

Restore Photos from the Trash

If you’ve changed your mind and don’t want to delete your photos or a few select photos you’ve moved to the trash, you can choose to restore your photos to your iPhoto Library.

  1. Select the trash icon in the source list.
  2. Select the photo or photos.
  3. Choose Photos, Put Back. Your photos are placed back in the albums, events, and projects in which they were located before you moved them to the trash.

Permanently Delete Photos

  1. Select Trash in the source list, and click the Empty Trash button.
  2. Click OK in the dialog box that asks whether you are sure you want to delete the photos permanently.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account