Home > Articles > Home & Office Computing > Microsoft Applications

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Save Your Diagram

Save your work. It’s easy to say, but it’s not something we always remember to do. The mere thought might bring back memories of frustration and the Luke Skywalkian cry of “Nooo!” that escaped your lips when an application froze or power was lost once long ago. Visio provides a few ways to save you from those feelings of remorse.

Save As

Save As is an important place to start soon after you create a new drawing. When you select the Save icon in the Quick Access toolbar for the first time, it automatically takes you to the Save As screen (see Figure 3.8). You can also click the File tab and choose Save As on the left, or you can use Ctrl+S on the keyboard.

FIGURE 3.8

FIGURE 3.8. You have a few places to choose from when saving your work.

A new feature in Visio 2013 is the inclusion of SkyDrive as a location to save your work. This cloud-based location is associated with your Live ID. When saved to this SkyDrive, you can access the content from any computer with Internet access, and you can even share files from your SkyDrive.

To learn more about sharing your drawings using SkyDrive, see page 230.

When you use Save As, you can choose the file format that you want to use. As you can see in Figure 3.9, there are many formats to choose from. The default is named Visio Drawing; it is a new format and uses the .vsdx file extension. The Visio 2003–2010 Drawing format choice may be practical when sharing drawings with others who use older versions of Visio.

To learn more about other formats, see page 235.

FIGURE 3.9

FIGURE 3.9. From Visio, you have many choices when choosing how to save your diagrams.

AutoSave

AutoSave does what the name implies; it automatically saves your work—if it is configured, that is. Whereas your concern about saving a test diagram may not be the same as saving an organization chart you have worked on for the past three days, it is a good idea to know AutoSave is enabled and which settings are being used (see Figure 3.10).

  1. Click the Home tab to access the Backstage area.
  2. Click Options at the bottom of the vertical menu on the left.
  3. Select Save under Visio Options and verify your settings.
  4. Click OK to save changes.
    FIGURE 3.10

    FIGURE 3.10. You have several options when using AutoSave.

In Figure 3.10, you see the setting options for Save. Here you can change the default format using the Save Files in This Format drop-down menu. Save AutoRecover Information Every X Minutes allows you to enable and change the default of 10 minutes to a shorter period of time. It is not enabled by default. To minimize the amount of work that can be lost due to a power outage or because a computer suddenly stopped working, some people change this to 5 minutes or even less. If the file itself is extremely large or complex you might notice a slight hit on performance. If that happens then increase the interval. You may prefer to enable or disable other settings here if you desire to further fine-tune your save experience.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account