Home > Articles > Software Development & Management > Architecture and Design

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

4.7. Summary

Requirements for a system come in three categories:

  1. Functional. These requirements are satisfied by including an appropriate set of responsibilities within the design.
  2. Quality attribute. These requirements are satisfied by the structures and behaviors of the architecture.
  3. Constraints. A constraint is a design decision that’s already been made.

To express a quality attribute requirement, we use a quality attribute scenario. The parts of the scenario are these:

  1. Source of stimulus
  2. Stimulus
  3. Environment
  4. Artifact
  5. Response
  6. Response measure

An architectural tactic is a design decision that affects a quality attribute response. The focus of a tactic is on a single quality attribute response. Architectural patterns can be seen as “packages” of tactics.

The seven categories of architectural design decisions are these:

  1. Allocation of responsibilities
  2. Coordination model
  3. Data model
  4. Management of resources
  5. Mapping among architectural elements
  6. Binding time decisions
  7. Choice of technology
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account