New Service: Files
Lotus Connections 2.5 includes a new service called Files that allows you to easily discover a person's files, share a file with your community, and create collections of files to keep you organized. You can upload a file of any type and add readers and editors to it. You can add new versions, and people can add comments and rate the file. You can access all the files shared with you, files shared by a person, or files shared with a specific Community, as described earlier in the "Using Communities" section.
In the Files service, you will first see a list of your most recently added files in order of their upload time (see Figure 6.28).
Figure 6.28 My Files listing
You can navigate from here to these individual files, or you can explore files shared with you and what's happening to your files in the Updates tab. Finally, you can view Collections of files by clicking the Collections tab to view virtual collections, or groups, of related files.
When you click on a link to a file, you will be able to view more information about that file and download it, as shown in Figure 6.29. At the top you can see the title, sharing information, and tags. If you are an editor of the file or the owner, you can upload a new version of the file. Uploading a new version includes selecting the file to upload and proving an optional summary of changes in the file. Clicking on Share will allow you to select people you want to add as readers or editors. If the file is not owned by you but is shared with you, you can in turn add people as readers of the file. This allows users of Files to see who a file is being shared with and the chain of people with whom it is shared. Setting Properties allows you to change the name, description, and public visibility of the file, and More Actions allows you to add the file to a collection, set email notifications on the file when a new version or new comments are posted, and delete the file.
Figure 6.29 File-sharing details
Under Versions, you can see who has uploaded a new version and download previous versions. If you are an editor of the File, in one click you can delete all previous versions of the file. This option is useful when you want to go from a private file that you and maybe another colleague have been working on and make the final version public.
Collections are groups of files. You can add a file to more than one collection, and as with files, they can be private, public, or shared. Private collections can be seen and worked with only by their owner. If you create a public collection, all the files in it must also be public. If a file added to a public collection becomes private or shared later, it gets removed from the collection.