Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Project Management Maturity

Project managers need to create a unique product that satisfies multiple, conflicting stakeholders using resources that don’t report to them under tight budgets and time constraints—simple, right? As we will see, project management is a vast topic. It can’t be learned in a day. Project management takes years of experience to master the art and the science.

Organizations are no different. As individuals within the organization mature in their ability to manage projects, so does the organization.

As the software industry began to grow, the U.S. government contracted with the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) to develop a model that ranks an organization’s capability to perform projects. That model is called the Capability Maturity Model (CMM). Later the SEI generalized and further developed the model to include all projects. The later model is called the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI).

Figure 1.1 shows five maturity levels: initial, managed, defined, qualitatively managed, and optimized. To be rated at each level, the organization must demonstrate that it can achieve all the defined goals for that level. You can use this model as a roadmap to help you mature your project management capabilities in a controlled and predictable manner. SEI’s Web site is www.sei.cmu.edu. SEI is tied to Carnegie Mellon University.

Figure 1.1

Figure 1.1 CMMI maturity levels

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account