Home > Store

PCI System Architecture, 4th Edition

Register your product to gain access to bonus material or receive a coupon.

PCI System Architecture, 4th Edition


  • Your Price: $55.99
  • List Price: $69.99
  • Usually ships in 24 hours.


  • Copyright 1999
  • Dimensions: 7-3/8" x 9-1/4"
  • Pages: 832
  • Edition: 4th
  • Book
  • ISBN-10: 0-201-30974-2
  • ISBN-13: 978-0-201-30974-4

PCI System Architecture is a detailed and comprehensive guide to the Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) Bus Specification, Intel's technology for fast communication between peripheral devices and the computer processor.

This new edition has been thoroughly updated, reorganized, and expanded to cover the PCI Local Bus Specification version 2.2 and other recent developments, including the new PCI Hot-Plug Specification, changes to the PCI-to-PCI Bridge Architecture Specification, revisions to the PCI Bus Power Management Interface Specification, and the new features of the PCI BIOS Specification.

This book provides clear and concise explanations of the relationship of PCI to the rest of the system and PCI fundamentals, including commands, read and write transfers, memory and I/O addressing, error handling, interrupts, and configuration transactions and registers. In addition, you will find specific information on such key topics as:

  • Hot-Plug Specification
  • Power management
  • CompactPCI
  • The 64-bit PCI Extension
  • 66 MHz PCI Implementation
  • Expansion ROMs
  • PCI-to-PCI Bridge and the PCI BIOS
  • Add-in cards and connectors
  • Bus arbitration
  • Reflected-wave switching
  • Early transaction end
  • Fast back-to-back and stepping

Changes from PCI 2.1 to PCI 2.2 and changes from PCI-to-PCI Bridge Specification 1.0 to 1.1 are visibly highlighted throughout the book so that those familiar with the previous versions can quickly get a handle on new features and functions.

Anyone who designs or tests hardware or software involving the PCI bus will find PCI System Architecture, Fourth Edition a valuable resource for understanding and working with this important technology.

The PC System Architecture Series is a crisply written and comprehensive set of guides to the most important PC hardware standards. Each title explains from a programmer's perspective the architecture, features, and operations of systems built using one particular type of chip or hardware specification.

Sample Content

Table of Contents

About This Book.

1. Intro to PCI.

2. Intro to PCI Bus Operation.

3. Intro to Reflected-Wave Switching.

4. The Signal Groups.

5. PCI Bus Arbitration.

6. Master and Target Latency.

7. The Commands.

8. Read Transfers.

9. Write Transfers.

10. Memory and IO Addressing.

11. Fast Back-to-Back & Stepping.

12. Early Transaction End.

13. Error Detection and Handling.

14. Interrupts.

15. The 64-Bit PCI Extension.

16. 66MHz PCI Implementation.

17. Intro to Configuration Address Space.

18. Configuration Transactions.

19. Configuration Registers.

20. Expansion ROMs.

21. Add-in Cards and Connectors.

22. Hot-Plug PCI.

23. Power Management.

24. PCI-to-PCI Bridge.

25. Transaction Ordering & Deadlocks.

26. The PCI BIOS.
27. Locking.

28. CompactPCI and PMC.

Appendix: Glossary of Terms.


Submit Errata

More Information

Unlimited one-month access with your purchase
Free Safari Membership