Home > Authors

The aids2031 Consortium

The aids2031 Consortium includes nine thematic working groups on the topics of modeling, science and technology, social drivers, the programmatic response, financing, communication, leadership, a special look at hyperendemic countries (Southern Africa), and countries in rapid economic transition (focusing on China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand). These nine groups, along with a group of aids2031 young leaders, engaged over 500 people around the world in discussions, debates, and issue-specific analyses on the current and future state of AIDS.


The work of the aids2031 Consortium and its working groups is led by the Steering Committee listed here:

Zackie Achmat, Founder, Treatment Action Campaign, South Africa

Ricardo Baruch, Global Youth Coalition on HIV/AIDS Taskforce, Mexico

Stefano Bertozzi, Director, HIV and Tuberculosis, Global Health Program, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and Chair of the aids2031 Steering Committee

Myung-Hwan Cho, President, AIDS Society of Asia and the Pacific, and Professor, Konkuk University, South Korea

Achmat Dangor, CEO, Nelson Mandela Foundation, South Africa

Paul Delay, Deputy Executive Director, UNAIDS, Switzerland

Alex deWaal, Program Director, HIV/AIDS and Social Transformation, Social Science Research Council, USA

Chris Elias, President, Program for Appropriate Technology in Health (PATH), USA

David de Ferranti, Executive Director, Global Health Initiative, Brookings Institution, USA

William Fisher, Director, Department of International Development, Community and Environment, Clark University, USA

Geoffrey Garnett, Professor, Imperial College London, UK

Denise Gray-Felder, President, Communication for Social Change Consortium, USA

Geeta Rao Gupta, Senior Fellow at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and former President, International Center for Research on Women, USA

Rob Hecht, Principal and Managing Director, Results for Development, USA

Heidi Larson, Executive Director aids2031 and Senior Lecturer at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Callisto Madavo, Professor, Georgetown University, USA

Michael Merson, Director, Duke University Global Health Institute, USA

Sigrun Mogedal, Ambassador on HIV/AIDS, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway

Prasada Rao, Senior Advisor to the Executive Director of UNAIDS and former UNAIDS Regional Director for Asia and the Pacific

Leonardo Simao, Chief Executive, Joachim Chissano Foundation, Mozambique

As Sy, UNICEF Regional Director for East and Southern Africa, and former UNAIDS Director of Partnerships and External Relations


Ex officio members:

Robert Hemmer, National Service of Infectious Diseases, Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg

Peter Piot, Director of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and former UNAIDS Executive Director

Todd Summers, Senior Advisor for Global Health at ONE, formerly Senior Policy Officer for Global Health, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA


Writing team:

Stefano Bertozzi, William Fisher, Michael T. Isbell, Lindsay Knight, Heidi Larson, and Peter Piot