Home > Articles > Home & Office Computing > Other Applications

QuickBooks 2006: How to Add or Change Information After the Interview Is Completed

You might find that you need to enter more information into your QuickBooks company file after the EasyStep Interview is completed. Using the information presented in this chapter, you'll be able to customize your QuickBooks experience so that the program produces exactly the results your company requires as well as being able to add additional information that you might have skipped over or not thought of during the interview process.
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

What You'll Do

Set General Preferences

Set Desktop View Preferences

Sort a List

Display Lists on Forms

Add an Account

Use Account Numbers

Add Customers

Display Detailed Customer Information

Add Vendors

Add Items in the List Window

Add Information “On-the-Fly”

Move Items on a List

Create a Subitem

Edit Information on a List

Hide Entries on Lists

Delete Entries on a List

Merge Entries on a List

Print a List

Search for a Transaction

Generate a QuickReport

Set Accounting Preferences

In the first chapter, you learned how to set up your company using the EasyStep Interview. Because the interview gathers the basic start-up information necessary to use your QuickBooks program, you can now use QuickBooks on a daily basis in a style that fits your business needs, without having to continually re-enter those pieces of information.

That said, you might find that you need to enter more information into your QuickBooks company file after the interview is completed. Using the information presented in this chapter, you'll be able to customize your QuickBooks experience so that the program produces exactly the results your company requires as well as being able to add additional information that you might have skipped over or not thought of during the interview process.

QuickBooks uses lists to keep track of everything, including your chart of accounts, your company's vendors and customers, employees, jobs on which you're working, different options for terms of payment, payroll items that are used for paychecks, and more. Anything that's entered on a QuickBooks form is stored in a list. In this chapter, you'll learn how to add to lists, change information already existing on lists, change the placement of list entries, sort lists, remove entries from lists, and combine list entries. When you change an item on a list, those changes carry through to the forms you use in QuickBooks and the reports you create.

Setting General Preferences

QuickBook's general preferences affect the way the program works and provide you with an opportunity to set technical performance options, such as what happens when you press the Enter key, how information appears on your screen, and how the editing features work. After you've used QuickBooks for a while, you might want to revisit the general preferences and make changes to those preferences to make your time spent in QuickBooks easier or more efficient.

Set Personal General Preferences

one.jpg Open the Preferences dialog box by selecting Edit, Preferences.
two.jpg Click the General option on the left side of the Preferences dialog box.
three.jpg Click the My Preferences tab at the top of the dialog box if that tab is not already selected.
four.jpg Check the Pressing Enter Moves Between Fields box if you want to use the Enter key to move between fields the way the Tab key works; otherwise pressing Enter typically completes a transaction.
five.jpg Check the Automatically Open Drop-Down Lists When Typing box if you want QuickBooks to always display a list of options for your data fields.
six.jpg If Beep When Recording a Transaction is checked, you'll hear a “beep” sound every time you complete a transaction.
seven.jpg If you want to type 1234 and have it appear as 12.34, check the Automatically Place Decimal Point box; otherwise 1234 will appear as 1,234.00.
eight.jpg Checking the Warn When Editing option results in a pop-up box appearing every time you make changes to a previously saved transaction.
nine.jpg The Warn When Deleting option causes a pop-up warning to appear whenever you attempt to delete a transaction or an item that hasn't been used.
ten.jpg Check Bring Back All One Time Messages to restore those QuickBooks pop-up reminder messages that give you an option to check the box if you don't want to see the message again.
eleven.jpg If the QuickBooks pop-up sales pitch messages are sounding a bit too familiar, you can turn them off completely by checking this box (or uncheck if you want to start seeing them again).
twelve.jpg Check the Automatically Recall option if you want QuickBooks to read your mind. As soon as you start typing, QuickBooks finds the customer or vendor that matches your entry and fills in all related information.
thirteen.jpg When you check the ToolTips option and then place your mouse pointer over a field where the text is too long for the field, QuickBooks displays the extended text.
fourteen.jpg Select Use Today's Date As Default for new transactions, or you can choose the Use the Last Entered Date As Default box instead.
fifteen.jpg Choose how you want QuickBooks to treat customized descriptions that you enter on forms—keep the description you enter on a form even if you change the item selection (Always), remove the descsription when an item is changed (Never), or Ask with each circumstance.

Set Company General Preferences

one.jpg With General selected on the left side of the Preferences dialog box, click the Company Preferences tab at the top of the box.
two.jpg Choose whether you prefer to have time shown in decimal or actual minutes format. The Minutes choice is significant if you use QuickBooks for tracking time.
three.jpg Check the Always Show Years As 4 Digits (1999) box, or uncheck the box if you want to display two-digit years.
four.jpg If you change vendor or customer information that appears on a form, QuickBooks will prompt you to update the records for that customer or vendor with the new information. Checking the last check box on the Company Preferences tab prevents QuickBooks from changing previously saved information.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account