Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Listing Your Contact in Public Directories

Now that you have your contact vCard filled out, you can (optionally) list it in public directories and make it possible for other Groove users to look you up, add your contact to their contact list, and start grooving!

Of course, you always have the option to remain unlisted and to give your contact out only to specific people.

You can list your contact in either of the following directories:

  • The Groove public directory, which is managed on the Groove Networks Web site (http://www.groove.net).

  • If your computer is connected to a local area network (LAN), you can list your contact in a LAN directory.

Note that when you first created your Groove account, your contact—with all current vCard settings—was automatically listed in the Groove public directory (unless you unchecked the option to do so in the Activate Account window).

On the Identities panel of My Account, directly under your vCard, you can check or change how your contact is listed using the drop-down menus (see Figure 3.4).

Figure 3.4Figure 3.4 Check or change how your contact is listed in directories on the Identities panel of My Account.

Select No Listing, Name Only, or Full vCard. If you select No Listing, Groove removes your contact from the selected directory and displays a notification message.

As an experiment, try changing your directory setting for the Groove public directory. First, change the setting to No Listing. You see the notification message shown in Figure 3.5.

Figure 3.5Figure 3.5 The Groove Notifier reports that your contact has been removed from the public directory.

Next, list your contact again, with the setting of your choice. You see a notification message similar to the one in Figure 3.6.

Figure 3.6Figure 3.6 The Groove Notifier reports that your contact is now listed.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account