Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
From the author of Selecting Who Can See Individual Posts

Selecting Who Can See Individual Posts

Even after you set these global posting privacy settings, you can change the privacy setting for any individual post you make. That is, any given post can be sent to a specific list of people that overrides the global settings you made previously.

For example, you might have set your global privacy settings so that your friends can see your posts. But if you have a new post that you want only your immediate family to see, you can configure that single post to go to only to your family members, not to everyone else on your friends list.

To set the privacy settings for an individual post, start a new status update as normal. Then, within the post, click the Post Privacy Setting button and select one of the available options, as shown in Figure 4. This selection overrides for this post your global default settings. Finish the post as normal; then click the Save Changes button.

Figure 4 Setting privacy settings for an individual status update

Interestingly, when you set the privacy settings for an individual post, that settings becomes the new default. That is, all subsequent posts will share the new setting you created—unless you go back and change the global defaults, that is.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account