Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Using Site Closure and Deletion Settings

In Site Settings, you can close the use of the site, delete it all together, or select site policies specified by the site administrator. When you close a site, links to access other site services, such as Outlook, Outlook Web App (OWA), and Project Server, are removed. When you delete a site, you also delete any subsites, content, and information associated with the site, including Site Settings, documents, libraries, and lists. If you accidentally delete a site, the site collection administrator can restore it from the site collection recycle bin. If an option is not available, you don’t have permission to perform the operation.

Use Site Closure and Deletion Settings

  • yellow_01.jpg In your web browser, open your SharePoint site.
  • yellow_02.jpg Navigate to the site you want to delete.
  • yellow_03.jpg Click the Settings button (Gear icon), and then click Site settings.
  • yellow_04.jpg Under Site Administration, click the Site Closure and Deletion link.
  • yellow_05.jpg Use any of the following:

    • Site Closure. Click the Close this site now button to close the site.
    • Site Deletion. Select the option you want for the site.
    • Site Policy. Select the policy you want for the site. The policies are configured by the site administrator.

    IMPORTANT If an option is not available, you don’t have permission to perform the operation.

  • yellow_06.jpg Click OK.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account