Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Deleting a SharePoint Site

If you no longer need a site and have the right permissions, you can delete it. If an option is not available, you don’t have permission to perform the operation. When you delete a site, you also delete any subsites, content, and information associated with the site, including Site Settings, documents, libraries, and lists. If you only want to delete a subsite, you can remove it too. If you accidentally delete a site, the site collection administrator can restore it from the site collection recycle bin.

Delete a SharePoint Site

  • yellow_01.jpg In your web browser, open your SharePoint site.
  • yellow_02.jpg Navigate to the site you want to delete.
  • yellow_03.jpg Click the Settings button (Gear icon), and then click Site settings.
  • yellow_04.jpg Under Site Administration, click the Sites and workspaces link.
  • yellow_05.jpg Click the Delete button.

    IMPORTANT If you don’t have permission to delete the site, an alert message appears to send a request.

  • yellow_06.jpg Click Delete to confirm the deletion.

Delete a SharePoint Subsite

  • yellow_01.jpg In your web browser, open your SharePoint site.
  • yellow_02.jpg Navigate to the subsite you want to delete.
  • yellow_03.jpg Click the Settings button (Gear icon), and then click Site settings.
  • yellow_04.jpg Under Site Actions, click the Delete this site link.

    IMPORTANT If the Delete this site option doesn’t appear, you don’t have permission to delete the site.

  • yellow_05.jpg Click Delete to confirm the deletion.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account