Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Deleting Photos

Although it’s always a good idea to keep copies of all your images (both good and bad) stored somewhere, you can still delete them from both the catalog and hard disk at the same time. However, just as a safeguard, Lightroom places these photos in your system’s Trash (Mac) or Recycle Bin (Win) without emptying it.

Delete from the Catalog and Hard Disk

  1. From the Grid or Filmstrip, select the image thumbnail(s) for the photo(s) you want to delete.

    03fig38.jpg
  2. Choose Photo, Delete Photo, or press the Delete key. You can also Control+click (Mac) or right-click the thumbnail and select Delete Photo from the contextual menu.

    03fig39.jpg
  3. Click Delete from Disk.

Lightroom removes the image(s) from the catalog and places it in the system’s Trash (Mac) or Recycle Bin (Win). Note that the image is not officially deleted from the hard disk until you manually empty the Trash/Recycle Bin.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account