Home > Articles > Data > FileMaker

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Working with Records

The steps involved in creating and deleting records in FileMaker Pro are simple. Under the Records menu, choose New Record, Delete Record, or Duplicate Record. Notice also that there’s a Delete All Records option. For now, let’s explore how to take care of simple data entry. Many solutions (including the Starter Solutions) provide buttons—usually at the top of the layout—to create and delete records; some might also provide a duplicate record button.

If you are in the midst of entering data in a record and want to undo the entry, use the Revert Record command under the Records menu. A record is saved—or committed—automatically when you click outside a field for the first time (or in another field), change modes, change layouts, or press the Enter key. FileMaker Pro uses the term commit to indicate when a record is posted, or saved, to your database. Using the Revert Record command before committing a record allows you to roll back all the changes you’ve made, returning that record to its last committed state.

  • ccc.jpg If Revert Record doesn’t seem to do anything, see “Reverting Records” in the “Troubleshooting” section at the end of this chapter.
  • ccc.jpg If you have trouble with data you believe to be lost, see “Data Loss” in the “Troubleshooting” section at the end of this chapter.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account