- 1. Your iPad or iPad 2 Becomes Unresponsive
- 2. The Screen Gets Scratched
- 3. You Accidentally Delete An Important File, Document or App
- 4. Your iPad Gets Lost or Stolen
- 5. As You Type, Your iPad Creates Errors, But Thinks It's Auto-Correcting
3. You Accidentally Delete An Important File, Document or App
As a general rule, you should create a regular backup of your iPad 2. If you're using iOS 4.3.3 (or earlier), this can be done via the iTunes sync process.
Or, if you're using iOS 5, it can be done wirelessly using iCloud. From your backup, you can restore data, files, or apps that you accidentally delete.
If you're working on an important file and creating a backup using the iTunes sync process isn't possible, immediately email a backup of the file to yourself, or save it to a cloud-based file sharing service, such as Dropbox or WebDAV (if you're using iOS 4.4.4 or earlier, or iCloud if you're using iOS 5).
Once you have purchased and downloaded any app from the App Store, you can reinstall that app for free, at anytime, by accessing the App Store directly from your iPad and re-downloading the app.
Or, you can transfer it from your primary computer using the iTunes sync process or using iCloud (if you're running iOS 5).
The good news is that you cannot accidentally delete any of the apps that came preinstalled on your tablet. To delete an app from your iPad, from the Home Screen, press and hold down any app icon.
When all of the icons start to shake, you can delete any app that has a black-and-white, X-shaped icon in the upper-left corner of the app icon, by tapping the X. This will remove the app from your iPad altogether.
Keep in mind, this is different from accessing multi-tasking mode (by double-tapping the Home button), which causes a row of icons for apps that are currently running to be displayed.
By holding your finger on any of these app icons while in multi-tasking mode, a red-and-white negative-sign icon will appear in the upper-left corner of each app icon. When you tap any of these icons, it will close and quit the app, but not delete it from your iPad.