Home > Articles > Web Services > SOA

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book 6.3 SGPO Jurisdiction Models

6.3 SGPO Jurisdiction Models

As explained in Chapter 3, a given IT enterprise can have one or more service inventories. Each service inventory represents a collection of independently standardized and governed services. When an IT enterprise has multiple service inventories, each is (ideally) associated with a well-defined domain, such as a line of business. In this case, service inventories are further qualified with the word “domain.”

Depending on whether domain service inventories are being used and depending on how cooperative relations are between different service inventory owners, there may or may not be the opportunity to have one SGPO assume responsibility for multiple domain service inventories. As a result, different jurisdiction models exist, as follows:

Centralized Enterprise SGPO

If a single enterprise service inventory has been established, then it is generally expected that SOA governance responsibilities will be assigned to a single SGPO that oversees SOA governance on behalf of the entire IT enterprise.

Figure 6.4 A single SGPO responsible for the enterprise service inventory.

Centralized Domain SGPO

Even though individual domain service inventories can be independently standardized, managed, and owned, with enough cooperation between the owners, the IT department may be able to establish a single, enterprise-wide SGPO that subjects all service inventories to a common SOA governance system.

Figure 6.5 A single SGPO responsible for multiple domain service inventories.

Alternatively, different SOA governance programs can be created for each or select domain service inventories. With this model, separate programs can still be defined and maintained by the same central SGPO. The primary benefit of doing so is to maintain consistency and enterprise-wide alignment of how SOA governance programs are created and carried out, despite the fact that the respective SOA governance systems vary.

Federated Domain SGPOs

In this model, a central overarching SGPO exists in addition to individual SGPOs, each responsible for a separate domain service inventory. The domain SGPOs carry out individual SOA governance programs; however, these programs are required to comply to a set of conventions and standards defined by a single parent SGPO. The intent of this model is to strike a balance between domain-level independence and enterprise-wide consistency.

Figure 6.6 Multiple domain SGPOs are further “governed” by a central overarching SGPO.

Independent Domain SGPOs

Each domain service inventory has its own SGPO, which has full governance authority and jurisdiction over that domain. With the absence of a centralized SGPO presence, independent domain-level SGPOs have complete freedom to define and execute respective SOA governance programs.

Figure 6.7 Multiple domain SGPOs independently govern multiple domain service inventories.


  • The SGPO is an organizational entity responsible for defining and administering the SOA governance program.
  • The SGPO needs to be carefully positioned within the overall IT department to ensure alignment with existing governance groups and programs.
  • Different SGPO jurisdiction models can be considered, depending on the SOA adoption approach taken by an organization.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account