Home > Articles > Operating Systems, Server

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

4.5 Deleting a User

You should always be careful when deleting a user, as important files in the user's home directory may be lost. It is generally never a good idea to delete any of the users that are created when your system is first installed—especially root! Even normal users that you have created can be disabled by editing the user and setting the password option to No login allowed.

If you still want to go ahead and delete a user, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the user you want to edit from the existing list. A form containing all the details of the user will appear, as shown in Figure 4.5.

  2. Click the Delete button at the bottom of the page. This will bring up a form asking you to confirm the deletion, with buttons to delete just the user or his home directory as well. The amount of disk space used by the user's home directory will be shown.

  3. Select the Delete user in other modules? option if you want the user to be deleted from other modules in which deletion has been set up. Any Cron jobs belonging to the user will be deleted, as will his Sendmail mail file.

  4. Click either the Delete User or Delete User and Home Directory button to delete the user. A page showing the progress of the deletion will be displayed while it is taking place.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account