Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
From the author of Saving Your Movie

Saving Your Movie

When you've finished all your editing and applied all your transitions and special effects, it's time to save your work. In most video-editing programs this is a two-step process: First you save the project, and then you process or publish the final video. This second step involves a lot of computer processing because it compiles all the clips and effects you’ve selected into a single video file.

When compiling your final video, save it at the highest possible resolution in any one of the major video file formats, such as .wmv, .mpg, .mp4, or .mov. You should save and upload your file in its original resolution, as shot by your camcorder. If your camcorder shoots in 720p HD resolution (that’s 720 x 1280 pixels), edit and save your movie in 720p; don’t upconvert or downconvert to a different resolution. (YouTube will accept files in all resolutions up to full 1280p.)

Some video editing programs offer one-button saving and converting just for YouTube. For example, Windows Live Movie Maker has a YouTube Share button right on the main toolbar; click this button to choose the final resolution, save, and upload the file to your YouTube account.

When you’re done uploading, your video will be available for public viewing. At this point, you can notify your friends and family of your latest home movie – and let them share the moment.

Figure 5 Online sharing options in Windows Live Movie Maker.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account