Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Managing Project Settings

The Project Settings page enables you to define project parameters when you first set up a project, as well as manage these settings throughout the project lifecycle.

From the Basecamp Dashboard, click the link of the project you want to edit from the Your Projects list. Next, click the Project Settings link on the upper-right corner of the screen.

The Project Settings page for that project opens, shown in Figure 4.9.

Figure 4.9

Figure 4.9 Update project settings before you start entering project data.

The remainder of this section describes tasks you can perform on the Project Settings page. Be sure to click the Save Changes button at the bottom of the page to ensure that your changes take effect.

Renaming a Project

The name you entered when you created your project appears in the Project Name text box, but you can change this at any time.

Creating an Overview Page Announcement

If you want to communicate specific information to project team members, enter your message in the Overview Page Announcement section. Then, select the Yes, Display This Announcement on the Overview Page checkbox.

For example, you could post a project overview, project updates, an urgent message for team members, and so forth.

Defining Your Start Page

By default, Basecamp displays the Overview page when you first view a project. You can display another page, however, as your default initial view. To do so, select one of the following pages from the drop-down list in the Start Page section: All Messages, To-Dos, or Milestones.

Selecting the Primary Company for a Project

When you set up a project, you specified the primary company for it. To change this, select a new company in the Select the Primary Company for This Project section. A drop-down list displays all available companies.

The Basecamp Dashboard lists this project under the heading of the company you choose here. See Lesson 13, "Viewing Project Activity on the Dashboard," for more information.

Archiving a Project

When you archive a project, you essentially "freeze" it. You can still view project data, but no one can edit it or add any new data. An archived project doesn't count toward any project limits that your current account plan specifies. See Lesson 1, "Getting Started with Basecamp," for a reminder of how many active projects you can maintain.

To archive a project, select the Archived option button in the Project Status section of the Project Settings page, shown in Figure 4.10.

Figure 4.10

Figure 4.10 Basecamp gives you three choices of project status.

Reactivating an Archived Project

If you want to edit or add content to an archived project, you must reactivate it. To do so, select the Active option button on the Project Settings page.

Remember, reactivating an archived project means that it now counts toward the total number of projects allowed for your account plan. If you've already reached your maximum, you won't be able to reactivate a project until you archive or delete another.

Placing a Project on Hold

If you don't want project data such as milestones, messages, comments, and to-dos to appear on the Basecamp Dashboard, you can place a project on hold. To do so, select the On Hold option button on the Project Settings page.

An on-hold project still counts toward the project limit for your account plan. You can also still actively add and enter project data. In essence, placing a project on hold is a way to continue working on it while "hiding" its data from the Dashboard.

Deleting a Project

To delete a project, click the Yes, I Understand—Delete This Project link on the right side of the Project Settings page. A dialog box opens, where you can confirm that you really want to delete the project.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account