Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Assigning People and Permissions to Projects

In Lesson 3, "Managing People, Companies, and Permissions," you added companies and people to your Basecamp system and gave them permission to access specific data. You can also assign permissions at the project level on the People & Permissions page.

To assign people and permissions to a specific project, follow these steps:

  1. From the Basecamp Dashboard, click the link of the project you want to edit from the Your Projects list (if it isn't already open).
  2. Click the People & Permissions tab to open the People & Permissions page, shown in Figure 4.3.
    Figure 4.3

    Figure 4.3 The People & Permissions page is very similar to the All People page you explored in Lesson 3.

  3. Click the Add People, Remove People, Change Permissions link on the People & Permissions page. Figure 4.4 shows the page that opens.
    Figure 4.4

    Figure 4.4 Specify project-specific permissions on this page.

The Add People, Remove People, and Change Permissions page displays a list of the companies and people you gave access to the project when you created it. You can change or refine these permissions on this page at any time as long as your project is still active.

On this page, you can do the following:

  • Select users from other companies who require access to this project by placing a checkmark before their name. You'll notice that to the right of the name of each person at an external company, there are three option buttons. These are: Messages & Files, Plus To-Dos, and Plus Milestones. By default, people from other companies can post messages, leave comments, and upload files. Optionally, you can give them permission to enter to-dos and milestones as well.
  • Select users from your company who require access to this project by placing a checkmark before their name. The account owner receives access by default. You can't remove this person.
  • Add a new person to a company by clicking the Add a New Person link below the company this person works for. The Add a Person page opens, described in Lesson 3.
  • Add a company to this project by clicking the Add Another Company to This Project button. The page expands to show additional fields (see Figure 4.5). Select a company from the Choose a Company drop-down list and click the Add Company button. Basecamp adds this company to the page. If no other companies exist, the Enter a New Company Name text box appears instead of the drop-down list. Enter the company name and click the Create and Add Company button.
    Figure 4.5

    Figure 4.5 Give additional companies access to your project.

  • Remove a company from the project by clicking the Remove link to the right of the company.

Updating Project Permissions on the Edit Page

Now that you've added your first project, the Edit page for each of your Basecamp users includes new project access fields.

To access the Edit page, click the Edit link below the name of any person on the People & Permissions page. You can also perform this same task on the All People page.

Figure 4.6 shows the [First Name] Can Access section that now appears on the Edit page for all users except the account owner.

Figure 4.6

Figure 4.6 Give an individual user access to specific projects.

In this section, you can specify project access for each individual person. Be sure to click the Update Project Access button to save your changes.

Understanding What Users Can View on Projects

Remember, what you can view as an account owner or administrator on Basecamp project screens differs from what your users see. For example, in Figure 4.4, user Nikki Robertson received permission to access messages, files, to-dos, and milestones. Figure 4.7 shows what she sees when she opens the Overview page for a new Basecamp project with no project activity. Figure 4.8 shows her screen view after project activity has started.

Figure 4.7

Figure 4.7 The initial Overview page for a regular user differs from what the account owner or administrator sees.

Figure 4.8

Figure 4.8 Project users have access only to the features you give them permission to view.

As you can see, many of the tabs and links that appear on an account owner's or administrator's Overview page aren't available on that same page for a regular user, even one who has received the highest level of access permission.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account