Home > Articles > Operating Systems, Server > Microsoft Windows Desktop

  • Print
  • + Share This
From the author of Changing Homegroup Sharing Settings

Changing Homegroup Sharing Settings

By default, the contents of folders shared with a homegroup cannot be changed by other homegroup users (Figure 14).

Figure 14 Homegroup sharing prevents a file from being edited by other homegroup members.

However, you can enable other homegroup users to have read/write access to files in a particular folder. To enable the contents of a folder to be changed:

  1. Open the folder.
  2. Click Share With.
  3. Select Homegroup (Read/Write) from the menu (Figure 15).

Figure 15 Enabling contents of the current folder to be editable by other members of the homegroup.

Once this setting has been changed, homegroup members can change shared files (Figure 16).

Figure 16 This file can now be edited (compare to Figure 14).

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account