Home > Articles > Operating Systems, Server > Microsoft Windows Desktop

This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Deleting and Restoring Files and Folders

When you organize the contents of a folder, disk, or the desktop, you might find files and folders that you no longer need. You can delete these items or remove them from the disk. If you delete a file or folder from the desktop or from the hard disk, it goes into the Recycle Bin. The Recycle Bin, located on your desktop, is a temporary storage area for deleted files. The Recycle Bin stores all the items you delete from your hard disk so that if you accidentally delete an item, you can remove it from the Recycle Bin to restore it. Be aware that if you delete a file from a removable disk, it is permanently deleted, not stored in the Recycle Bin. The files in the Recycle Bin do occupy room on your computer, so you need to empty it to free up space.

Delete Files and Folders

  • one.jpg Select the files and folders you want to delete.
  • two.jpg Click the Organize button on the toolbar, and then click Delete.
  • three.jpg Click Yes to confirm the deletion and place the items in the Recycle Bin.
  • four.jpg On the desktop, right-click the Recycle Bin icon, and then click Empty Recycle Bin.

    Your computer permanently removes the items.

Restore Files and Folders

  • one.jpg Double-click the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop.
  • two.jpg Select the item or items you want to restore.
  • three.jpg Click the Restore this item or Restore all items button on the toolbar.
  • four.jpg Click Yes to confirm the restore or click No to cancel it.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account