Home > Articles

0672322560

  • Print
  • + Share This

How to Share a Printer with Others

When you share a printer, it becomes accessible to other users on your network. By default, all users on the network can see and print to your printer. You can change this so that only particular users or groups of users can use your printer. To share your printer, your computer must be properly configured on a network.

Open the Sharing Dialog Box

In the Printers and Faxes window, right-click the printer you want to share and choose Sharing from the shortcut menu. The Properties dialog box for the selected printer opens.

Figure 3.26

Share the Printer

On the Sharing tab, enable the Share Name option and type a name for the shared printer. This is the name others on the network will see when they look for a printer.

Figure 3.27

Click the Security Tab

If you are using Windows XP Professional on a domain-based network (as you might in a large company), Windows also provides a Security tab that lets you limit the users who can access your printer. Click the Security tab of the Properties dialog box to bring that sheet to the front.

Figure 3.28

Remove the Everyone Group

Select the group named Everyone and click Remove. This action removes the permissions for all users to access the printer. At this point, no one on the network can print to this printer.

Figure 3.29

Add New Users

Click Add to give a new user or group of users permission to access the printer. The Select Users or Groups dialog box opens.

Figure 3.30

Select a User to Add

Select a user from the list at the bottom of the dialog box and click OK to add that person or group to the list of users who can use the printer. You return to the printer's Properties dialog box.

Figure 3.31

Apply the New Permissions

Select the exact permissions each user should have using the check boxes. The Print permission allows the user to print to the printer. Manage Printers allows the user to change printer settings. Manage Documents allows the user to move, pause, and delete documents waiting to print. Click OK to grant the new users you have added access to your printer.

Figure 3.32

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account

Related Resources

There are currently no related titles. Please check back later.