Home > Articles > Home & Office Computing > Microsoft Windows Desktop

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Rediscovering the Windows Home Server

If you change certain aspects of Windows Home Server—for example, if you change or modify the computer name or give the server a different IP address—your client computer will almost certainly lose its connection to Windows Home Server, and it probably won't be able to find the server again. The next time you log on to the client, the Windows Home Server Tray icon will be grayed out, and hovering your mouse over the icon will display a Not connected to server message, as shown in Figure 5.3.

Figure 5.3

Figure 5.3 Changing the server name or IP address can cause a client computer to lose its connection to the server.

If that happens, one solution is to uninstall and then reinstall the Windows Home Server Connector software. However, an easier solution is to run the Discovery program that installs with Windows Home Server Connector. This is the program that the Windows Home Server Connector uses to find the server in the first place when you initially install the Connector software. However, you're free to reuse it any time to rediscover the server. Here are the steps to follow:

  1. On the client computer, use Windows Explorer to open the following folder:
    %ProgramFiles%\Windows Home Server
  2. Double-click Discovery.exe.
  3. If the client is running Windows Vista, enter your User Account Control credentials. The Windows Home Server Connector then attempts to locate the server, as shown in Figure 5.4. If the Discovery program locates Windows Home Server, it prompts you for the server password.
    Figure 5.4

    Figure 5.4 Run Discovery.exe on the client to attempt to locate the Windows Home Server.

  4. Type the password and then click Next. Windows Home Server Connector rejoins your computer to the network.
  5. Click Next to complete the discovery portion of Windows Home Server Connector.
  6. Click Finish.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account