Home > Articles

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

This chapter is from the book

Setting Parental Restrictions

If you plan to let your kids or grandkids play with your iPad, you might want to set some restrictions on what they can do. In iOS 12, these settings are under the new Screen Time feature, which allows you to monitor and restrict use of your iPad. I give more details of the other features of Screen Time in Chapter 15. Here is how you use it to restrict the use of an iPad for a younger user.

  1. Open the Settings app and tap Screen Time. You might be asked right away if this is your iPad, or one that will be used by a child.

  2. Tap Content & Privacy Restrictions.

  3. Tap Enable Content & Privacy Restrictions.

  4. The Restrictions settings are a long list of categories, each with multiple settings. Tap each category to reveal all the options. If you want to prevent new apps from being installed and apps from being deleted, tap iTunes & App Store Purchases.

  5. Tap Allowed Apps to prevent access to apps such as Mail, Safari, Camera, News, and so on.

  6. Tap Content Restrictions.

  7. You can use standard movie and TV ratings systems for your country to restrict video playback. This applies only to content in the TV app. You would need to examine settings for third-party apps and services like Netflix if you want to restrict content in those apps.

  8. Tap Web Content to restrict access to websites in Safari. You can choose to disallow a preset list of “adult websites” or specify your own list of allowed sites.

  9. Tap Back to return to the previous menu.

  10. Adjust the many other services in the Privacy section. Most of these aren’t that important for preparing your iPad for use by a child—they’re personal preferences concerning how your iPad and apps handle privacy issues.

  11. Tap Back to return to the main Screen Time menu.

  12. Tap Use Screen Time Passcode.

  13. Set a passcode to prevent a child from simply going to the Settings app and switching off the content restrictions you have set. Remember this passcode because you’ll need to change these settings or disable them when you want to use your iPad again.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account