Home > Blogs > The TIA Convergence Technologies Professional (CTP) Certification

The TIA Convergence Technologies Professional (CTP) Certification

By  Jun 27, 2008

Topics: Certification

Have you ever terminated a Category 5e or Category 6 Ethernet cable? If so, then you are doubtless familiar with the TIA/EIA-568B telecommunications cabling standard. The TIA in the aforementioned standard refers to the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), an organization that sponsors a really nifty convergence certification program that I would like to tell you about.

In case you are unaware, the TIA is a non-profit trade organization whose mission is to define and promote telephony standards.

More specifically for our purpose, the TIA developed a vendor-neutral certification program called Convergence Technologies Professional (CTP) to validate the skill set of telephony convergence professionals.

“What does ‘convergence’ mean?” you ask. Convergence refers to the union of data, voice, and video wireless network services. Think of Voice over IP (VoIP). Think of streaming media. You get the idea.

The TIA Convergence Technologies Professional program consists of two tiers:

  • Entry Level: Certified in Convergent Network Technologies (CCNT)
  • Professional Level: Convergence Technologies Professional (CTP)

Let us consider each program in turn.

CCNT Certification

According to the TIA, the core competencies that are evaluated for the entry-level CCNT title are as follows:

  • Basic Telecommunications
  • Basic Data Communications
  • Computer-Telephone Integration
  • Local Area Networks
  • Broadband Technologies
  • VoIP Essentials

Who might be interested in the CCNT credential? TIA aims this title at technical sales personnel, support engineers, network administrators, and product managers.

The certification requirements for the CCNT are fairly interesting. To earn your CCNT, you must pass six (!) unproctored, open-book online exams. Combined these six exams challenge you with approximately 450 (!!) questions.

The good news is that each of the six exams is taken independently, and that each candidate is allowed up to three attempts to pass each individual exam. You can also take each exam in the comfort of your own office or home.

Once the candidate has successfully completed all six exams, the TIA awards him or her the TIA CCNT credential certificate.

I know what you are thinking: how much does the certification cost? Good question indeed.

You can purchase all six exam vouchers as a single bundle for $100.00. Alternatively, you can go a la carte and purchase the six exams separately for $25.00 apiece.


The core competencies for CTP candidates according to the TIA are as follows:

  • Industry Standards and Protocols
  • Infrastructure
  • IP Protocols
  • Telephony Concepts and Fundamentals
  • Voice-Over Convergence
  • Topology Convergence
  • Troubleshooting

Typical job roles for CTP candidates include channel partner sales personnel, technical representatives, enterprise IT professionals, voice/data support engineers, and implementation engineers.

To earn your CTP, you must pass a single, 65-question computer-based exam.

As of this writing, the registration fee for Exam TT0-201 is $175.00; you may register to take your exam with either Pearson VUE or Prometric.

Study Materials

The CTP Web site offers a wide variety of computer-based and book-based training for your exam preparation needs. The TIA maintains a separate Web page for CCNT study materials and CTP study materials.

In addition, you might want to check out the following Pearson titles:

Become an InformIT Member

Take advantage of special member promotions, everyday discounts, quick access to saved content, and more! Join Today.